The First BB Pilipinas Winner

Go down

The First BB Pilipinas Winner Empty The First BB Pilipinas Winner

Post by PAOLADEMIRANDA27 on Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:02 am

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]


Trivia courtesy of Celso DG Caparas

Modesty aside, I might be the only pageant aficionado who have this memento...autographed official photo of the first-ever Bb. Pilipinas (1964) winner, MARIA MYRNA SESE PANLILIO....or could be one of the few who have this.

Then 21-year old and AB major in Foreign Service graduate of Maryknoll College, Myrna Panlilio of San Fernando, Pampanga was a Merchants Bank teller. She won P2,000 cash, Regal sewing machine, a year’s supply of Helene Curtis beauty products, a complete wardrobe from Philippine Couturiers Association, a golden trophy from the Lions Club and free trip to Miami, Florida, USA.

Here's what transpired during the Coronation Night of BINIBINING PILIPINAS 1964

On Sunday, July 5, 1964 at 8 p.m., the maiden edition of the Binibining Pilipinas pageant was staged at the Araneta Coliseum, popularly known as 'The Big Dome.'

The event was scheduled on Friday, July 3 but was postponed due to Typhoon Dading that battered Central Luzon including Manila and its suburbs earlier that week.

Out of 30 aspirants, only 15 were chosen as finalists.

They were Marilou Alberto, Lilia Alvarez, Milagros Cataag, Marita Dimayuga, Aida Gaerlan, Elvira Gonzalez, Elizabeth Gutierrez, Edna Rosanna Keyes, Carmelita Larrabaster, Sonia Orendain, Maria Myrna Panlilio, Thelma Shaw, Chiqui Somes, Milagros Sumayao and Josefina Zaldua.

The pageant opened with the introduction of the finalists followed by their appearance in cocktail dresses.

Then, wearing elegant ternos, they delivered short speeches.

Finally, they paraded in identical playsuits (less-revealing swimsuits).

Lalaine Benett, Miss Philippines 1963 and Miss Universe 1963 third runner-up, announced the runners-up, then the winner.

Milagros Cataag was adjudged Bb. Waling-waling and Elvira Gonzalez as Bb. Ilang-ilang. Myrna Panlilio was declared the first Bb. Pilipinas.

The panel of judges was composed of Aurora Recto, Elvira Manahan, Jake Romero, Ramon Tapales and Romeo Gustilo.

Entertainers that night were Pilita Corrales, Alice Reyes Dance Group, Vic Soledad, The Filipinas Quartet and balancing expert Walter Lavarr

courtesy: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Posts : 2584
Join date : 2015-06-15
Age : 42
Location : Saudi Arabia

Back to top Go down

Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum